Sign up for our Newsletter today
and keep up-to-date with all your local news!


EDINBURG, Texas—The Edinburg Roadrunners smashed out 19 hits en route to a 12-1 victory over the McAllen Thunder Wednesday night at Edinburg Baseball Stadium.

Toro Trevino (3-1) picked up the win after allowing one run on three hits in eight innings pitched while striking out three and walking none.

The Roadrunners (18-22) grabbed the early lead in the bottom of the first.  C.J. Beatty led off with a double to left center field and then came into score on an RBI single by Robert Matlock that made it 1-0.

R.J. Harris hit a two-run double in the bottom of the second inning that scored Stantrel Smith and Wellington Dotel that extended Edinburg’s lead 3-0.

In the bottom of the third inning, Edinburg sent nine batters to the plate and scored five runs on five straight hits off of Thunder starter Justin Jordan (1-7) which pushed the score to 8-0.

Edinburg pushed their lead to 10-0 in the bottom of the fifth with an RBI single by Brandon Wilkerson and an RBI double by Matlock.

The Thunder (15-24) got on the scoreboard in the top of the sixth against Trevino.  Derek Marshall reached on a one-out single that snapped a string of 15 batters retired in a row by Trevino.  Eric Eiland then followed with a double that put runners at second and third.  D.J. Dixon then hit an RBI sacrifice fly that allowed Marshall to score from third making 10-1 Roadrunners.

In the bottom of the seventh, Matlock hit an RBI that allowed Brandon Wilkerson to score.  Osiel Flores then followed with an RBI single that scored Matlock from third extending the Roadrunners lead 12-1.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Related Articles x
  • 09/06/2014
  • By 

Villarreal leads Lobos to second consecutive win

Copyright 2014 Progress Times Just two games into the 2014 season the Palmview Lobos have already doubled their win total from last year. After going 1-9 in 2013 the Lobos have opened 2014 with...

General Interest
  • 09/05/2014
  • By News Service

Gov. Perry names Mission doctor to Texas Medical Board

AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry has named Michael Arambula of San Antonio chair and appointed John Guerra of Mission to the Texas Medical Board. The board protects and enhances the public's health, safety...

  • 09/05/2014
  • By News Service

Tranquil Beginnings

Please complete all fields.

By subscribing you acknowledge notification of this site’s privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules, and agree to all privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules posted on this site. Please see our drawing rules here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required