Sign up for our Newsletter today
and keep up-to-date with all your local news!


20130906-Citizen-Awards-Tim-Brown featureJim Brunson, publisher of the Progress Times, announced today that nominations are now open for the annual citizen awards for Mr. Mission, First Lady of Mission, Man of the Year and Woman of the Year. Nominations will be accepted until 4 p.m. on Sept. 27.

The annual awards will be presented at the Mission Chamber of Commerce banquet on Tuesday, Oct. 15 at Mario’s Banquet & Conference Center in Mission. This is the ninth year the citi­zen awards presentations are to be made at the chamber banquet. Previously, the Pro­gress Times coordinated the annual Mission Awards Show­case banquet where the awards were presented annually since 1981.

“The Mission Chamber has been a great partner, not only with the Progress Times, but on behalf of the entire community, as we have worked together in honoring those in our community who have given extraordinary service to the community,” said Brunson. “The citi­zen awards give the commu­nity an opportunity to recog­nize the hard work and dedica­tion of our leading citizens who have helped make Mis­sion a stronger, more vibrant community."

Nominations may be submitted in person at the Progress Times office at 1217 N. Conway or by mail to Citizen Awards, c/o Progress Times, P.O. Box 399, Mission, Texas 78573. Nomi­nations may also be submitted by email to or by fax to 956-585-2304.

Links to forms:
Selection Criteria
Nomination Form
Previous Recipients
Email nominations to

Man and Woman of Year

Selection criteria for Man of the Year and Woman of the Year are as follows:

To be recognized for supe­rior service either for a signifi­cant project or continuing broad service to the commu­nity in the past two to 10 years. This may be for work with one organization or for work in several different areas or orga­nizations. The combined dura­tion of service should span no less than two years.

May be for work in civic, church or com­munity groups, if these labors have had significant impact on the citizens of Mission.

Must be a resident of Mis­sion or work in Mission.

Service will be measured in terms of its impact on the entire community as a whole as well as to a particular orga­nization.

Mr. Mission and First Lady

Selection criteria for Mr. Mission and First Lady of Mis­sion are the following:

Must have provided long term service to Mission through a civic or church group or endeavor, or through charitable or benevolent serv­ice to the community, or a combination of these factors.

Service most be ongoing and cover a minimum of 11 years.

Length of service, character and integrity will be among considerations.

Value of service to the community in general is the primary factor.

Must live, work or have significant busi­ness interests in Mission.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must include the nominee’s name, address and phone number as well as the qualifications of the indi­vidual. Qualifications may include positions and offices held, number of years of serv­ice and a description of the serv­ice the individual has given. Also, list any honors the individual has received, whether civic, church, or pro­fessional. Include a description of what is particularly out­standing about this indi­vidual. Also, include the name and telephone number of the per­son submitting the nomination. Any person who works or resides in Mission can submit a nomination.

The selection criteria for the awards, a nomination form and a list of previous recipients are posted on the Progress Times website The nomination forms and criteria may also be picked up at the Progress Times office located at 1217 N. Conway. To request forms to be faxed or emailed, call 956-585-4893. Email requests should be sent to

Last year’s award recipients were Sandra Vecchio, First Lady of Mission; Jim Schroeder, Mr. Mission; Maxilou Link, Woman of the Year, and Tim Brown, Man of the Year.

Tickets for the chamber banquet may be purchased at the Mission Chamber of Commerce, located at 202 W. Tom Landry, phone 585-2727.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Related Articles x
Local News
  • 09/05/2014
  • By Jim Brunson

Mission CISD raises tax rate 3 cents

Mission teachers will receive raises and equity adjustments ranging from $1500 to $3000 plus a 2.5 percent from midpoint pay bonus just before Christmas. Meanwhile, taxpayers will see their school...

General Interest
  • 09/05/2014
  • By News Service

Gov. Perry names Mission doctor to Texas Medical Board

AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry has named Michael Arambula of San Antonio chair and appointed John Guerra of Mission to the Texas Medical Board. The board protects and enhances the public's health, safety...

Please complete all fields.

By subscribing you acknowledge notification of this site’s privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules, and agree to all privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules posted on this site. Please see our drawing rules here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required