Sign up for our Newsletter today
and keep up-to-date with all your local news!


20130315 Alex MeadeAUSTIN—Gov. Rick Perry has appointed Alex Meade III of Mission and reappointed William H. “Bill” Dietz Jr. of Waco to the State Affordable Housing Corporation Board of Directors for terms to expire Feb. 1, 2019. The board oversees the provision of affordable housing for low income Texans.

Meade is CEO of the Mission Economic Development Corporation. He is a member of the Texas Economic Development Council, Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, International Council of Shopping Centers, Industrial Asset Management Council, Texas Border Coalition, 281 Coalition, and I-69 Alliance. He is also a past member of the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee and Advisory Board of Economic Development Stakeholders, and past interim director and manager of economic development for the Harlingen Area Chamber of Commerce. Meade received a bachelor's degree from St. Edward's University and a Master of Business Administration from The University of Texas at Brownsville.

Dietz is executive vice president of Extraco Banks, and a financial advisor with Raymond James Financial Services. He is a board member of the American Red Cross Heart of Texas Chapter and Baylor University Friends of Fine Arts, and a volunteer cubmaster for the Boy Scouts of America Cub Scout Pack 308. He is also a past board member of the Waco Rotary Club and Waco Symphony Orchestra, past treasurer of St. Paul’s Episcopal Day School, past president of the Heart of Texas Estate Planning Council, and a past youth soccer coach for the Heart of Texas Soccer Association. Dietz received a bachelor’s degree from Baylor University.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Related Articles x
General Interest
  • 09/05/2014
  • By News Service

Gov. Perry names Mission doctor to Texas Medical Board

AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry has named Michael Arambula of San Antonio chair and appointed John Guerra of Mission to the Texas Medical Board. The board protects and enhances the public's health, safety...

Local News
  • 08/22/2014
  • By News Service

Mission School Board reorganized

After accepting the resignation of school board President Sonia Trevino last Wednesday, the Mission CISD board of trustees elected new board officers. Patricia O’cana-Olivarez was named board...

Local News
  • 08/15/2014
  • By Jim Brunson

MCISD Board president resigns

  • 08/11/2014
  • By News Service

DEATH NOTICE-Alexa Martinez

Please complete all fields.

By subscribing you acknowledge notification of this site’s privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules, and agree to all privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules posted on this site. Please see our drawing rules here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required