Sign up for our Newsletter today
and keep up-to-date with all your local news!


Early voting in the 2012 primary runoff elections began Monday and ends today, July 27. Election day will be Tuesday, July 31.

The big runoff races are for U. S. Senator, as both Republican and Democratic candidates seek to fill the vacancy left by U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison. On the Republican ticket Ted Cruz faces Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst. The Democratic run-off is between Grady Yarborough and Paul Sadler. The winners from each respective party’s runoff will face each other in the November election.

Another important runoff in the Republican Party is between Eddie Zamora and Dale A. Brueggeman, who seek to be the party’s candidate to take on Democrat Congressman Ruben Hinojosa, District 15, in November.

In another runoff race, Edinburg attorney Kelly Rivera Salazar and La Joya health care administrator John Peña are facing off to lead the Hidalgo County Democratic Party.

During early voting people may vote at any polling place in their county of residence, choosing a time and place that is most convenient for their schedule. Voters who participated in the May 29 primary elections must vote in the same party’s run-off election in which they voted in May. Voters who did not cast a ballot in the primary elections may vote in either party’s run-off election.

Polling Locations During Early Voting

(ends July 27)
Following are the Mission area polling locations for early voting.

  • Alton: City Hall, 509 S. Alton Blvd.
  • La Joya: City Hall, 101 N. Leo Ave.
  • Mission: City Hall 1201 E. 8th St.
  • Mission: Fire Station #3, 1804 N. Shary Rd.
  • Palmhurst: Church of Christ, 1410 E. 3 Mile Rd.
  • Palmview: County Commission Pct. 3, 724 N. Breyfogle Rd.
  • Sullivan City: Sullivan Fire Station, 500 Cenizo

Polling hours are from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Primary Runoff Ballot

Following are the candidates for the primary runoff election races:

Democrat Party

  • United States Senator: Grady Yarborough vs. Paul Sadler;
  • Member, State Board of Education, District 2, Ruben Cortez, Jr. vs. Celeste Zepeda-Sanchez;
  • Judge, County Court at Law, No. 7, Nereyda Morales-Martinez vs. Sergio Valdez;
  • County Chairman, John Peña vs. Kelly Rivera Salazar;

Republican Party

  • United States Senator, Ted Cruz vs. David Dewhurst;
  • United States Representative District 15, Eddie Zamora vs. Dale A Brueggemann;
  • Railroad Commissioner, Warren Chisum vs. Christi Craddick;
  • Railroad Commissioner, Unexpired Term, Barry Smitherman vs. Greg Parker;
  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4, John Devine vs. David Medina;

As of July 24, a few more than 7,000 people have voted with 6,265 Democrats and 739 Republicans casting votes, according to unofficial returns for the Hidalgo County Elections Department.

Additionally, photo identification, as required in Senate Bill 14, will not be necessary for early voting or on election day. To cast a ballot during early voting or on election day, voters should present their voter registration card or in lieu of a voter registration card, at least one of the following:

  • A driver’s license or personal identification card issued to you by the Texas Department of Public Safety or a similar document issued to you by an agency of another state, even if the license or card has expired;
  • A form of identification containing your photograph and establishing your identity;
  • A birth certificate or other document confirming birth that is admissible in a court of law and establishes the person’s identity;
  • Your United States citizenship papers;
  • Your United States passport;
  • Official mail addressed to you by a governmental entity; or
  • A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address.

Republican and Democrat Primary Election • July 31, 2012
Election Day Polling Locations • Hidalgo County, Texas
Polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Precinct City Building Address
88, 205, 211, 212 & 247 Alton City Hall 509 S. Alton Blvd.
11, 196, 197, 198 & 257 La Joya City Hall 101 N. Leo Ave.
64, 99, 183, 217, 219 & 254 La Joya Kika De La Garza School 5441 N. La Homa Road
9, 218, 220, 243 & 248 Mission Veterans Memorial High School 700 E. 2 Mile Road
103 Mission Kika De La Garza Building 921 E. 12th St.
10, 63, & 102 Mission Mission City Hall 1201 E. 8th St.
75, 89, 125, 131, 132, 133, 165, 182, 209, 241, 244 & 256 Mission Salinas Elementary School 6 3/4 Miles North Conway
93, 94, 128 & 204 Mission Mission Fire Department 415 W. Tom Landry
28 & 98 Mission O'Grady Elementary School 810 W. Griffin Parkway
86, 101 & 236 Palmhurst Church of Christ 1410 E. 3 Mile Rd.
29, 100, 185, 187 & 208 Palmview Palmview City Hall 400 W. Veterans Blvd.
78, 186 & 210 Palmview Co. Comm. Pct. 3 Office 724 Breyfogle Road
50, 145, 170, 194 & 195 Peñitas JFK Elementary in La Joya ISD 1801 Diamond Avenue
38, 188, 203 & 215 Sharyland Mission Fire Station #3 1804 N. Shary Rd.
83 Sharyland John S. Shary Elementary 2300 N. Glasscock
51 & 80 Sullivan Fire Station 500 Cenizo Drive


blog comments powered by Disqus

Please complete all fields.

By subscribing you acknowledge notification of this site’s privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules, and agree to all privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules posted on this site. Please see our drawing rules here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required